

## State of Nevada Victims of Crime Program

## Information for Victims of Violent Crime

The Victims of Crime Program "VOCP" can assist victims of violent crime and their families cope and recover from the physical, emotional and financial impact of violent crime, by helping pay expenses related to the crime such as:

- Hospital and Ambulance Bills
- Mental Health Counseling
- Funeral and Burial Expenses
- Relocation Costs

- Medical and Dental Treatment
- Wage Loss
- Loss of Support for Dependents
- Crime Scene Cleanup

The VOCP can help victims for crimes such as:

- Assault/BatteryDomestic Violence
- Elder Abuse
- Robbery
- Physical Abuse
- Homicide

- Sexual Assault
- Child Abuse
- Drunk Driving

## Do I qualify for Assistance?

To qualify for VOCP assistance a victim must establish each of the following:

- 1) The crime must be have happened in Nevada and been reported to the police, child protective services, or other law enforcement agency within 5 days of the crime.
- 2) Victims must cooperate with law enforcement during the investigation. Also, the victim must not have committed a wrongful act that is substantially attributable to the crime. (Exceptions made for certain crime types)
- 3) The application must be submitted to the VOCP within 24 months of the crime or within a reasonable time where the victim is unable to apply within 24 months. Minor victims of sexual assault, molestation or pornography have until age 21 to file an application.

If you qualify and need an Application:

Complete the information below, and mail to:	OR: F	Request an	application	by cal	ling
--	-------	------------	-------------	--------	------

VOCP 6171 W. Charleston Blvd., Bldg. 9 Las Vegas, NV 89146

(702) 486-2740

Name:	You may also download an application		
Address:	from our website at:		
Apartment #:	www.voc.nv.gov		